Monday, June 24, 2013

Newell's wins Final 2013 / San Martin gets the last relegation spot

Lanus had a strong start, River had its moments and San Lorenzo finished with a 10 games undefeated run, but no one can say that Newell's is not the fair champion of Final 2013.

Even if they were the champion of a short tournament (the system was implemented in 1990/1991 season) with most defeats (5) and won it with only 38 points (the record for less points is for the Apertura 2004 Newell's with only 36) they were the best team in the league this year and if it wasn't for their Copa Libertadores commitments that made them play some games with reserves or mixed lineups, they would have won Final 2013 by a much bigger difference.

They have the best coach in the league, Gerardo Martino, who will leave once Copa Libertadores is over (they will play the semifinals vs Atletico Mineiro on July 3rd and 10th), the best striker in Ignacio Scocco, and very experienced leaders like Gabriel Heinze and Maxi Rodriguez that returned when the club needed them, a year ago when they were in trouble in the relegations table.

6th championship in Newell's history but their season is not over yet. Next Saturday they will play  the season final vs Velez, the champion of Inicial 2012, before they focus 100% on Copa Libertadores again.


With their 1-3 defeat at River, San Martin joined Union and Independiente as the three teams that will play next season in Nacional B.
They didn't deserve to go because of the good football they showed in many games this year, but unfortunately for them their reaction came too late.
Argentinos Jrs beat the champion Newell's with a late goal and they'll stay in 1st division but unless they have a very good 2013/2014 season they will be in a similar situation a year from now.


Next season kicks off on August 2 when Inicial 2013 starts and Rosario Central, Gimnasia and Olimpo will join the remaining 17 clubs in 1st division.
Also around the same time Copa Sudamericana will start and the 6 Argentine teams in it will be: Lanus, Racing, River, Belgrano, San Lorenzo and the winner of the season final between Velez and Newell's.

All Round 19 goals:

Final Standings:

No comments:

Post a Comment